Our Team

Blending expertise from the fields of information technology, project management, community relations, and medicine, the MHIN team has the ideal skill set to serve our partners. Learn more about each individual’s capabilities and how they can benefit your organization.

Leadership

Tony Cochrane

Director of Sales and Business Development

cochranet@mhin.com

As the Director of Sales and Business Development, Tony Cochrane is responsible for identifying new opportunities to serve clients throughout Michiana.  Tony has an extensive 18-year career of creating and delivering innovative solutions to healthcare’s complex business challenges.  Prior to joining MHIN, Tony co-founded and served as president of a provider of full-service primary care worksite clinics that assist employers in reducing total healthcare benefit spend, as well as underpin wellness and population health strategies.  Before moving to South Bend in 2011, Tony spent more than 10 years with Eli Lilly & Company in Indianapolis focused on payer integration, managed care, and sales.  When he is not directly helping customers, Tony can be found either on the tennis court, golf course, or kayak.

Kelly Hahaj

Chief Executive Officer

hahajk@mhin.com

Kelly Hahaj is a dedicated healthcare leader with twenty-two years of experience in the healthcare technology field. She was appointed to the position of Chief Executive Officer in 2015 after serving several years in management positions for MHIN, including Chief Operating Officer. Prior to joining the company in 2007, she served as the Marketing Director for Sage Software – Healthcare Division and held positions with Web MD/Emdeon, Medical Manager, and Systems Management, Inc. Kelly has played a key role in helping MHIN grow to be the health information organization it is today, including shaping our priorities around Meaningful Use and population health, growing the data exchange, and overseeing state and federal initiatives to ensure MHIN stays on the leading edge of the industry. Kelly is a graduate of Indiana University Bloomington where she earned a Bachelor of Science in Business and a concentration in Computer Information Systems. She resides in Granger with her husband and two children.

Edward V. Hayes II

I.T. Director and Security Officer

hayese@mhin.com

Edward V. Hayes II has over 17 years of healthcare IT experience with a wide range of expertise including VMware, Citrix, Disaster Recovery, Veeam, Remote Hosting Solutions, Vulnerability Scanning, and Security Risk Analysis. Edward was instrumental in MHIN’s achievements in earning accreditation by both the Electronic Healthcare Network Accreditation Commission and the Direct Trusted Agent Accreditation Program. He earned his Bachelors in Business Administration from Marshall University and is a certified administrator in Microsoft, HP 3PAR SANS, and NetWare 5. He is married with four children and enjoys spending time with his family through coaching youth sports, camping, hunting, and fishing.

Jolene Hayes

Sr. Director of Customer Operations

574-968-4336

hayesj@mhin.com

As the Senior Director of Customer Operations, Jolene Hayes oversees support, implementation, customer relations, and project management operations. Jolene has over 25 years of experience in Support and Customer Relations for Healthcare Software and joined MHIN in 2013. She was born and raised in Michiana, where she resides with her husband and two children.

Jaime Klink

Project Manager

klinkj@mhin.com

Jaime Klink leads project management for our population health and results integration platforms.

Patrick Luecke

Integration Analyst Manager

lueckep@mhin.com

Patrick Luecke leads the MHIN integration team and is the resident expert on HL7, Cerner CCL, and Mirth Connect. He earned his Bachelor of Science degree in Chemical Engineering from Purdue University.

Waldo Mikels-Carrasco

Director of Population Health Research and Development

574-968-4340

wamcar@mhin.com

Waldo A. Mikels-Carrasco leads MHIN initiatives to use technology and data to drive healthy outcomes and eliminate health disparities. Waldo is an expert in medical anthropology, capacity building, population health management, health disparities, applied social science research, and intervention design and evaluation. He serves in leadership capacities for several local and statewide organizations including: Indiana Rural Health Association Service Corporation, Indiana Latino Institute, and United Way of St. Joseph County. Waldo earned a Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy from Indiana University South Bend and a Master of Arts in Applied Anthropology from University of North Texas.

David Navarro

Chief Data Architect

574-968-4343

navarrod@mhin.com

David Navarro joined MHIN in 2004 and currently serves as Chief Data Architect. He brings over 17 years of Healthcare IT Industry experience to MHIN. As the Chief Data Architect, David provides an end-to-end strategic vision and technical expertise for translating logical design into data solutions that align with core Health Information Exchange principles. David holds a Bachelors of Business Administration, Management Information Systems from Texas Tech University. In his downtime David loves to travel and also take care of his extraordinarily smart dog Buddy.

Kristi Schmidt, RHIT

Senior Director, Technical Operations, Privacy Officer

574-968-1010

kschmidt@mhin.com

As the Senior Director of Technical Operations, Kristi Schmidt manages the development and support of clinical and population health applications and oversees activities related to data governance, integrity, and analysis. She also specializes in HIPAA privacy and security as the designated Security Officer. Kristi began her tenure with MHIN in 2001 after spending over 20 years in various Health Information Management roles including Cancer, Cardiac and Trauma Registries, as well as Medical Transcription. She is credentialed by the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) as a Registered Health Information Technician (RHIT), is an active member of AHIMA and Michigan Health Information Management Association. Kristi serves as a member of the Saint Joseph Regional Medical Center’s Institutional Review Board. She is a founding and current member of the Michiana Cancer Survivor’s Society.

Sandy Zielinski

Project Director

zielinskis@mhin.com

Sandy Zielinski joined MHIN in 2005 and brings with her a wealth of experience having spent the past 30 years in the Healthcare IT Industry. She oversees projects that involve HIE Data Integration, Data Quality, Direct Protocol, and IHE Protocols for Interoperability. Sandy holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business Administration from Indiana University and is a member of the Project Management Institute. She is married and has two adult sons, is a cantor in her church, and is an Ironman triathlete.

Team

Kim Boocher

Support Analyst

boocherk@mhin.com

Susie Brennan, MPH

Research Program Manager

brennans@mhin.com

Breanna Ferency

Assistant Compliance Coordinator

ferencyb@mhin.com

Michelle Flanders

Support Analyst

flandersm@mhin.com

Heidi Huff

EHR Analyst

huffh@mhin.com

Michelle Hyink

HIE Analyst

hyinkm@mhin.com

Mark Kricheff, MD, MPH

Medical Director

kricheffm@mhin.com

Andrew Martin

Integration Analyst

martinan@mhin.com

Robin McIntosh, RHIT

Data Integrity Analyst

mcintoshr@mhin.com

Evie Nickison

Sr. Implementation Analyst

nickisone@mhin.com

Jill Pate

HIE Analyst

patej@mhin.com

Cynthia Schedler

Integration Analyst

schedlerc@mhin.com

Cathy Toms

Analytics and Data Integrity Analyst

tomsc@mhin.com

Caitlin Worm

Marketing & Partner Relations Manager

wormc@mhin.com